Footsteps in the Sand

It’s a commonly known poem nowadays, but it has a very special meaning for me personally. Not long before my son’s demise, he came into my office one day to bring me a gift. He handed me a little plaque which had written on it this poem. It was 1998, a summer day, and it was no special occasion. I asked him: “What is this for?”. He simply shrugged his shoulders and smiled. I loved it and thanked him, then sat it on my desk so I could have it in view as I worked. Nineteen years later, it still sits on my desk though now it has a much greater meaning for me. Did he know that one day I would need it?

My son had foretold his own demise. The night when he had all of his friends over to play poker, he suddenly stood up and announced that something tragic would occur within a year. That was also 1998. I believe that somewhere inside of him this plaque with this little poem scratched into it was his way of comforting me in advance. He knew I would one day need it. In one of the last poems my son had written, he stated:

There is nothing of mine
That is so strong as time
And though my will to fight is gone
Still time marches on
Oh! To Be as Strong as Time

 He was a very insightful young man. He often perceived things that others around him missed. For whatever reason, he had been gifted with an understanding that many lacked. When he looked into another’s eyes with those big blue eyes of his, one’s soul was revealed. Total strangers poured out their hearts to him. They knew he cared; they felt his compassion. He was born with a Shepard’s heart.

I miss you, Sweetie! Thank you for all the gifts you brought into my life. You, being the greatest of them all. xoxoxo

Footsteps in the Sand

One night I dreamed a dream.
As I was walking along the beach with my Lord.
Across the dark sky flashed scenes from my life.
For each scene, I noticed two sets of footprints in the sand,
One belonging to me and one to my Lord.

After the last scene of my life flashed before me,
I looked back at the footprints in the sand.
I noticed that at many times along the path of my life,
especially at the very lowest and saddest times,
there was only one set of footprints.

This really troubled me, so I asked the Lord about it.
“Lord, you said once I decided to follow you,
You’d walk with me all the way.
But I noticed that during the saddest and most troublesome times of my life,
there was only one set of footprints.
I don’t understand why, when I needed You the most, You would leave me.”

He whispered, “My precious child, I love you and will never leave you
Never, ever, during your trials and testings.
When you saw only one set of footprints,
It was then that I carried you.”

Footprints-in-the-Sand-Poem.jpg

(((HUGS)))  Jude Gibbs, Author of ‘Gifts from the Ashes’ available at:
http://www.directtextbook.com/isbn/9781498496728?geis=y
Articles on WordPress.com: https://wordpress.com/posts/bereavedparentsblog.wordpress.com.

Also, a Contributor on ‘The Mighty’: https://themighty.com/author/jude-gibbs/

Please help spread the Word. TY! (((HUGS)))

 

Leave a Reply

