I Can’t Handle It!

Isaiah 33:2

vs.

“I know God won’t give me anything I can’t handle. I just wish he didn’t trust me so much.”

A few weeks ago, I posted an article another wrote which stated that God does give us more than we can handle. It’s an article I have posted a few times because I think it’s an important message. A Mom commented on it that I had no right to post such ‘Lies’ on the internet. She was extremely upset about it and was quite ruthless in her comment. No doubt, she has heard some preacher/teacher use this Scripture in error: I Corinthians 10:13
‘No temptation has seized you except what is common to man. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it.’ This is totally taken out of context, especially when it is applied to tragedies. This Scripture is in reference to temptations…nothing more.

Often, well-meaning folks will say to a grieving parent: “God won’t give you more than you can handle” or “God must know that you’re strong enough to bear it”. Such statements can send one grieving down a black-hole of despair because they know they can’t handle this. Others will attempt to encourage the grieving by saying: “You’re so strong!”

NO, I AM NOT!

I can’t handle this!

Nor was I meant to ‘handle’ it on my own. My eldest recently pointed out to me that Daniel could not ‘handle’ being thrown into the Lion’s Den. King Darius had permitted a decree to be established that no one was to bow down to anyone except himself. He had been persuaded to do so by his counselors. Apparently, he had not thought through all possible ramifications for when the counselors then came to him to indict Daniel for praying to God, Daniel 6 states: “14 And the king, when he heard these words, was greatly displeased with himself, and set his heart on Daniel to deliver him; and he labored till the going down of the sun to deliver him.” However, the counselors persisted reminding the King of the Law. Darius, now being bound by the Law that he permitted, had to now throw Daniel into the Lion’s Den. But before doing so, he told Daniel: “Your God, whom you serve continually, He will deliver you.” The King then returned to his palace and spent the night fasting on behalf of Daniel. When morning came, the King made haste to go see if Daniel had survived this ordeal. Daniel proclaimed to the King: “My God sent His angel and shut the lions’ mouths“.

Darius then sent his counselors, along with their wives and children, into the same Lion’s Den in which all their bones were broken into pieces. That was the end of these counselors. The King then made a decree that everyone, in every dominion of his kingdom, must tremble and fear the God of Daniel. Not only had God delivered Daniel from the Lion’s Den by sending His Angel to shield and protect him, He also vindicated Daniel and was Glorified by all.

26 I make a decree that in every dominion of my kingdom men must tremble and fear before the God of Daniel.

For He is the living God,
And steadfast forever;
His kingdom is the one which shall not be destroyed,
And His dominion shall endure to the end.
27 He delivers and rescues,
And He works signs and wonders
In heaven and on earth,
Who has delivered Daniel from the power of the lions.

What a tremendous event! What a tremendous Victory! What a tremendous vindication!

It is Jesus the Christ Who gives us His strength (Phil. 4:13). When we are weak, we find strength to endure in Him alone (2 Cor. 12:10). He alone is our Hope (1 Tim. 1:1; Col. 1:27).

I have tried to survive the tragedies in my life in my own strength. I failed every time. I have needed God at every turn, every bend in the road. My strength is completely and utterly insufficient on this journey of grief. I must rely on the strength of God for every step I take…and I am not ashamed to admit it. I am entirely dependent on my God. He alone sustains me in my darkest hour. He alone is my deliverer from the Lion’s Den.

Psalm 39:7 “And now, LORD, what wait I for? my hope is in Thee.”

We appreciate Him being our Hope, and we have a hearty and joyful reception of Him in this relationship. The dethroning of self, the utter denial and rejection of self, is essential to the enthroning and crowning of Christ in our inner man. When Christ is clearly seen to be the only hope of our soul, and when He is spiritually received in this relation, the soul learns habitually and constantly to lean upon Him, to rest in Him, and makes no efforts without Him.” (Charles G. Finney).

“apart from me you can do nothing” (John. 15:5b)

Image result for daniel angel lion's den photo

(((HUGS)))  Jude Gibbs, Author of ‘Gifts from the Ashes’ available at: Xulon PressAmazon, Barnes & Noble and DeeperShopping. Additional international retailers: http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/biography/gifts-from-the-ashes,jude-gibbs-9781498496728 http://www.upliftvstore.com/product.asp?sku=9781498496728  Also, a Contributor on ‘The Mighty’: https://themighty.com/author/jude-gibbs/

Please help spread the Word. TY! (((HUGS)))

 

Leave a Reply

