A Story

Matthew 21:28-32The Voice (VOICE)

28 But I will tell you a story, and you can tell Me what you make of it: There was a man who had two sons. He said to his first son,

Father: Go and work in the vineyard today.

First Son: 29 No, I will not.

But later the first son changed his mind and went. 30 Then the father went to his second son.

Father: Go and work in the vineyard today.

Second Son: Of course, Father.

But then he did not go. 31 So which of the sons did what the father wanted?

Chief Priests and Elders (answering at once): The first.

Jesus: I tell you this: the tax collectors and prostitutes will enter the kingdom of God ahead of you. 32 John came to show you the straight path, the path to righteousness. You did not believe him, but the tax collectors and the prostitutes did. Even as you saw the prostitutes and the tax collectors forgiven and washed clean, finding their footing on the straight path to righteousness, still you did not change your ways and believe.

‘Religiosity’ is a horrible thing. I’ve seen more folks in my lifetime turned away from Jesus and His Love because of this, than most other things.  Jesus came not to save the ‘righteous’, but the sinner.

1 Timothy 1:

Christ Jesus Came to Save Sinners

12 I thank him who has given me strength, Christ Jesus our Lord, because he judged me faithful, appointing me to his service, 13 though formerly I was a blasphemer, persecutor, and insolent opponent. But I received mercy because I had acted ignorantly in unbelief, 14 and the grace of our Lord overflowed for me with the faith and love that are in Christ Jesus. 15 The saying is trustworthy and deserving of full acceptance, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, of whom I am the foremost. 16 But I received mercy for this reason, that in me, as the foremost, Jesus Christ might display his perfect patience as an example to those who were to believe in him for eternal life.

Folks that don’t know the Lord, often think He was like the ‘religious leaders’.  If they have had bad experiences in their lives with ‘religious’ people, they then believe that Jesus was like that, too. But Jesus called such Hypocrites and Vipers. My heart breaks for those who have been kept away from the Love of God because of this confusion.

I think this statement by Jesus to the religious leaders and elders who were ‘puffed up’ by keeping the Law speaks volumes on God’s perspective: Jesus: “I tell you this: the tax collectors and prostitutes will enter the kingdom of God ahead of you.”

 

(((HUGS)))  Jude Gibbs, Author of ‘Gifts from the Ashes’ available at: Xulon PressAmazon, Barnes & Noble and DeeperShopping. Additional international retailers:

http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/biography/gifts-from-the-ashes,jude-gibbs-9781498496728

http://www.upliftvstore.com/product.asp?sku=9781498496728

Also, a Contributor on ‘The Mighty’: https://themighty.com/author/jude-gibbs/

https://themighty.com/2017/03/the-pain-of-holidays-after-the-loss-of-loved-ones/https://themighty.com/2017/04/what-grief-can-be-like-bereaved-parent/

Please help spread the Word. TY! (((HUGS)))

Leave a Reply

