No Harm Done?

This is a ‘venting’ topic from my book so if venting is upsetting to you, please skip by this. I do not want to upset or offend anyone. It’s just that a person basically used this title, the same person who has ‘used’ other titles, and the irony of this topic is that it specifically addresses this type of violation and ‘theft’.

No Harm Done?…….TOPIC

I’ve been stumbling, quite accidentally (???), across statements a mom might make in expressing some of her deepest thoughts/emotions in a private setting, and finding them used on another’s blog. I find this discomforting. Perhaps, such a thing does not trouble others, I have no way of knowing. It troubles me, though.

I can only express my thoughts/feelings on such things.

Out of simple respect, if we come across something another has shared from their grieving heart, before using it to promote one’s own personal ‘blog’, please think about how that mom may feel if she suddenly ‘happens’ to stumble upon her own words being shared/discussed/used elsewhere.

I’ve run across a few such occurrences in just this past week and am wondering if it’s becoming some sort of ‘trend’. Some folks are taking another’s personal expression and using it as the underlying thought for the self-promotion of their own publicly posted blogs. Some actually gather statements/feelings of those in grief, then put them into a book from which they personally profit. Personally, if I have shared such a thought/emotion and then find it quoted elsewhere, whether or not my name is used, I feel a ‘violation’ of sorts. It feels like just one more thing has been ‘taken’ from me.

Perhaps, it’s just me.

I do feel, however, before we quote another bereaved parent, that whenever possible we should attempt to contact them and ask them: “Is it OK to quote you?” Even if they choose to remain anonymous.

I have also seen ‘ideas’ taken and used for the same purpose of using it on their own blog. In such cases, they are not necessarily plagiarizing, but rather ‘stealing’ an idea, then using it for their ‘blog’. There’s no ‘copyright’ for thoughts and ideas, it’s simply a moral issue and an attitude of respect.

I would hope that God is our source. That what we write about is what the Lord has laid upon ‘our’ heart. I’m not saying that when we see a ‘good idea’ or something that ‘pops out’ at us, that we shouldn’t write about it from a personal perspective…especially when you have quoted that person with the same quote in the past and they did not object to you doing so. What I am suggesting is that when writing on these ‘especially eye-catching blogs’, that one asks themselves if they are doing so because God is leading them to do so? Or… is it because they believe it’s a great idea to further promote their own blog?

We can only self-examine in many of these situations. We all answer to our Lord and if we violate our own conscience, we harm ourselves…and possibly others.

Please be considerate of others. It’s not necessary to take from another for one’s own personal promotion to benefit.

1 Cor. 10: 23 All things are lawful for me, but all things are not expedient: all things are lawful for me, but all things edify not.

(Excerpt from ‘Gifts from the Ashes’)

(((HUGS)))  Jude Gibbs, Author of ‘Gifts from the Ashes’ available at: Xulon PressAmazon, Barnes & Noble and DeeperShopping. Also, a Contributor on ‘The Mighty’: https://themighty.com/2017/03/the-pain-of-holidays-after-the-loss-of-loved-ones/

Book released 2/15/17.

Please help spread the word…TY!!!  (((HUGS)))

5 thoughts on “No Harm Done?

  1. Bereaved mothers are NOT exempt from acting like complete pieces of sh*t. They started out as flawed humans, as we ALL are, and then grief exacerbated it.

    I believe it’s a sign of the times mama. Some folks make it BIG on social media, so there’s this unsaid competition to up do everyone else, even if it means, “Stealing” another bereaved mom’s words. It’s ALL about comparison. Who gets more attention, who says it better, who rises to the top. That’s the illusion! The intimate quest!

    Unfortunately this is how it’s going to be so long as Facebook exists and people bow down to the chase and hype of internet fame. They’ll sell their souls to the devil if it means getting more attention.

    How very sad.

    The question isn’t, “No harm done?”
    It’s, “Who gives a crap?” who gets hurt on my climb to the top. This mentality is evident in EVERY aspect of internet society. It is what it is, and unfortunately there’s not much that can be done about it.

    ❤️BIBO❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t think I’ll ever get past the sadness of such things. I guess I am naive. From my perspective, we are all in the same boat now, whether we like it or not. There is no Captain except God. We are all simply survivors hoping to survive our journey after the Titanic sunk. You’ve just inspired me, Cherri. I need to write about ‘Molly’. (((HUGS)))

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

