Why I love Eagles

Momma eagle & Juvie

One year after my son had passed on, I bought a little hunting/fishing camp on the River as a healing retreat place for myself and my three surviving siblings. It was only 600 sq. ft., fifty-five yrs. old, that sat on cinder blocks. It’s definitely rural…2 1/2 miles down a gravel road filled with potholes. The neighbor there called it ‘God’s best kept secret’.

I had asked for input from my family for a name for the place (it’s common for folks in the valley to do so). We arrived at: Neon Genesis which mean: New Beginnings.

For six months, the neighbors would yell at me that the eagle was out, but I would always miss seeing him. Everyone else had seen him, but not me. Then, one weekend when we went there on my birthday, we took a long drive to enjoy the beauty of all the colors of the Autumn leaves. Suddenly, an eagle swooped down and stayed hovering above a SUV right in front of us. His wing span was wider than the vehicle, and he hovered like that for a good solid five minutes.

Tears were streaming down my face.

I know we all have things that we believe are ‘signs’ from our children. That somehow God sends such things to reassure us and comfort us. For me, it’s eagles. I waited 6 mos. after buying that camp to see one…and I did on my birthday, finally. I believe with all of my heart that eagle was my birthday gift from my son…somehow, some way. I know some don’t believe in such things, and I’m OK with that. But what are the odds? Who could have orchestrated such perfect timing but God?

That’s why I love Eagles. That’s why the pic at the top of my site is a Momma Eagle and her Juvie.

Isaiah 40:

30 Even youths shall faint and be weary,
    and young men shall fall exhausted;
31 but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength;
    they shall mount up with wings like eagles;
they shall run and not be weary;
    they shall walk and not faint.

(((HUGS)))  Jude Gibbs, Author of ‘Gifts from the Ashes’ available at:  Xulon PressAmazon, Barnes & Noble and DeeperShopping. Contributor at ‘The Mighty’: https://themighty.com/2017/03/the-pain-of-holidays-after-the-loss-of-loved-ones/

2 thoughts on “Why I love Eagles

  1. Jude, that’s an amazing vision of the eagle and your tears, and feeling your son’s presence. I can fully understand why you love eagles now.

    My youngest son has a spot in the trees with a memorial for his brother. He even planted a tree where he says he will be buried in a wooden box. I was visiting their home and was helping my grandchildren pick up rocks in the front yard before the planting of grass.

    Of course my insides are in tormoil as I converse with my grandchildren and my son, trying to put on “the act” that my heart isn’t breaking in two. We were all working away when my youngest son came from around the house and started talking to me. I looked up and he had his hat on backwards like his brother used to. Then it was as if Chad appeared right where my youngest son stood for just a few seconds. Moments later one of my granddaughters yelled out. “Look I found a rock that’s shaped like a heart.” Thinking back it still stuns me.

    Hugs Kathleen

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG! Kathleen..My son also wore his hat on backwards. I took my car in for tires last year and when I looked inside the shop window, there was a young man in line who looked ‘exactly’ like my son from the side..and he had his hat on backwards just like how my son wore it. I had to go inside and I kept staring at this young man…I was checking out his eyes, nose, cheekbones, lips, etc. I could see it was not my son from the front, but his profile was soooo much like my son…but it was that hat. I had to apologize to the kid for staring at him…I started rambling to all around how much he looked like my son. While waiting for my tires, I had to go hide in the bathroom 3 times to have a meltdown of tears. In 17 yrs., I had never run into anyone that looked that much like my son…and that hat*** That was the kicker. If they had an award for the ‘crazy lady of the day’, I would have most definitely been awarded it on that day. (((HUGS)))

    Like

Leave a Reply

