The Emptiness Speaks Volumes

Image result for lone chair on beach photo

It won’t be silenced!

It screams at me! It is relentless in its pursuit of me. It is blatant and unashamed, unabashed. It’s arrogance dominates the very essence of my soul!

“My anguish, my anguish! I am pained at my very heart; my heart is disquieted in me; I cannot hold my peace; because thou hast heard, O my soul, the sound of the trumpet, the alarm of war.” (Jer. 4:19)

That hole, that void, echoes through the chambers of my being. It reverberates throughout my day, each hour, each night. NOTHING muffles it! The vacuum roars with delight.

Image result for empty photo

It sucks everything out of me. It’s not satisfied with simply being an empty room where I can slam the door on it and walk away. NO! It’s an empty Coliseum, an amphitheater, where the sounds are bouncing off the walls…acoustically vibrant. The volume is intense. The volume knob does not exist. There is no remote controller even in the remoteness. There is no ambiguity, no dubiety, no incredulity. Rather, it is lucid and explicit in its demeanor.

An Intolerable Hellion!!!

A provocateur of the worst sort in its invisibility. May you be eternally anathematized!

Fill me, O Lord, with your Spirit! Vanquish this enemy within!

Gen. 1:2 The earth was formless and void, and darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was moving over the surface of the waters.

Ruth 1:21 “I went out full, but the LORD has brought me back empty. Why do you call me Naomi, since the LORD has witnessed against me and the Almighty has afflicted me?”

You can take my dry bones
Breathe life into this skin
You called me by name
Raised me to life again. (Bones-Hillsong United)

Image result for breathe life into my soul photo

Job 33:4 “The Spirit of God has made me, And the breath of the Almighty gives me life.”

4 thoughts on “The Emptiness Speaks Volumes

  1. Jude, your way of expressing the horror of child loss, is incredibly on point. The words you use REALLY paint the picture for those who have no clue. If only they cared to understand just a smidgen… your words, your book, I believe WILL help people understand, at least as much as they can without experiencing it firsthand.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

