Teetering

Often, I will have moments in which I find myself vacillating.  Such moments can be quite stressful, as if I am teetering on an edge.

Standing in the valley of indecision
Trying to make some sense out of
A strange condition that we see
I’ve gotta find a way out ’cause
Nobody would listen–Santana

I will find my thoughts swinging from one extreme to another like a pendulum that is swinging out of control and has lost it’s delicate balance. Such moments can often be frightening and confusing. I have to remind myself that not making a decision at such times, is making a decision…and that’s OK. I don’t need to give into the pressure. I can give myself the permission to set things aside for now until I have prayed and sought God’s direction, guidance, and peace.

It’s a balancing act.

Joel 3:14 says, “Multitudes, multitudes, in the valley of decision! For the day of the LORD is near in the valley of decision.” This verse in context is referring to the choice we make in following the Lord…or not. But allow me to extrapolate just a bit.

When we are in a ‘valley of decision’, we are typically in a ‘low spot’. A valley is an  elongated depression or low lying area between two higher ridge points. It is a “deep place” that exists between parallel mountain ridges. Often, it can also be a place that is prone to flooding. When we are bombarded with many options, feeling indecisive and overwhelmed by the waters of emotion, we may not know whether or not we will ‘sink or swim’.

On the other hand, a valley is the most fertile place for farming and growing. It’s a place that can be quite fruitful. We can fear a flood, or we can trust: IS. 43:1 But now thus says the Lord, he who created you, O Jacob, he who formed you, O Israel:“Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by name, you are mine.2 When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you; when you walk through fire you shall not be burned, and the flame shall not consume you.

Psalm 23:

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
    I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
    your rod and your staff,
    they comfort me.

God is there to meet us in the valley of indecision. He will be the ‘balance’ we are seeking.

In 1 Kings 18:21. Elijah asks the people: “…How long will you falter between two opinions? If Yahweh is God, follow Him; but if Baal, follow him.” 

God is the author of peace, not confusion. (1 Cor. 14:33). Part of the Fruit of the Spirit is temperance (Gal.5:23), and temperance means to have a proper balance. Being still and knowing that He is God (Ps. 46:10), quieting our souls of emotion and trusting our Lord that He’s ‘got this’ as we pray for His Wisdom which He will grant (James 1:5), will bring us His Peace.

“The harder the conflict, the more glorious the triumph.” -Thomas Paine

Psalm 62:

My soul, be quiet before God,
    for from him comes my hope.
He alone is my rock, my deliverance, and my high tower;
    nothing will shake me.

Leave a Reply

