Cocoon

Today, God is teaching me something new.

Over my lifetime, I have often encountered moments in time when I have felt preoccupied. I failed in expressing such times because I did not have the words that were adequate. I do not know if others also experience such moments, or to what extent if they do. What I do know is that they have always ‘given birth’ to something good…if only an awareness of something bad. The awareness in itself was a good thing.

For the past 7 yrs., I have spent much of my time in the wilderness…in more ways than one. I have had to embrace and confront an abundance of grief which resulted from many ‘life experiences’. Quite honestly, I did not know from one day to another if I would survive it all…and often prayed I would not. I can honestly say that the passing on of my son was the absolute worst.

Today, I have been given an understanding that previously I lacked.

The Lord gave me a new word: Gravid. It’s an old word derived from a Latin word: gravis. An old word, but it’s new to me. It literally means: heavy. Truly, our heart is heavy. Also, literally it means: pregnant. However, figuratively it means “full or teeming” and “meaningful.” How I wish I had this word in the past because it so aptly describes and defines such moments.

Grief is a type of cocoon that is full of meaning….gravid. The archaic definition of ‘teem’ is ‘to give birth to’. It truly is a transitional time full of meaning. A time of ‘waiting’ for the birth of something new, something that gives ‘life’. The time of transition from a caterpillar to a butterfly. Where each of us is transitioning to, we do not know. But if we place our Faith and trust in our Lord, Jesus Christ, and wait upon Him to bring it forth to completion, He will be Faithful to do so. Truly: “God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.”(Ps. 46:1b).

A cocoon envelops us. It is mostly a dark place. We have no understanding as to how we ended up here, nor have any idea what awaits us. It is a time of dichotomy in which we have become divided….one foot in this world and one in the next. We wrestle as did Paul: “We are confident, I say, and willing rather to be absent from the body, and to be present with the Lord.” (2 Cor. 5:8). And again: “23 For I am in a strait betwixt two, having a desire to depart, and to be with Christ; which is far better: 24 Nevertheless to abide in the flesh is more needful for you.” (Philippians 1). It is essential, at such times, that we learn to wait on our Lord, allowing it all to form us into whomever per God’s design. “Faithful is he that calleth you, who also will do it..” (I Thes. 5:24).  Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ: (Phil. 1:6).

Bereaved parents are a panoply. Panoply is defined as: a group or collection that is impressive because it is so big or because it includes so many different kinds of people or things. When we each emerge from our individual cocoons, we will emerge victoriously if we wait in ‘quietness and confidence’ in our Lord. (Is. 30:15). We will truly be able to say: O death, where is thy sting? O grave, where is thy victory?” (1 Cor. 15:55).

While we wait, let us: Fight the good fight of faith, lay hold on eternal life, whereunto thou art also called, and hast professed a good profession before many witnesses. (1 Tim. 6:12).  And when these things begin to come to pass, then look up, and lift up your heads; for your redemption draweth nigh. (Luke 21:28)

Image result for butterfly photo

Excerpt from ‘Gifts from the Ashes’

(((HUGS)))  Jude Gibbs, Author of ‘Gifts from the Ashes’ available at:

http://www.xulonpress.com/bookstore/bookdetail.php?PB_ISBN=9781498496728

https://www.amazon.com/Gifts-Ashes-Jude-Gibbs/dp/1498496725/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1487342742&sr=8-1

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/gifts-from-the-ashes-jude-gibbs/1125792801?ean=9781498496728

http://www.deepershopping.com/item/jude-gibbs/gifts-from-the-ashes/7049689.html?utm_source=GoogleShopping&utm_medium=datafeed&utm_campaign=GoogleShopping&gclid=CJeoufav5dICFUokhgodV88NKA

Also, a Contributor on ‘The Mighty’: https://themighty.com/2017/03/the-pain-of-holidays-after-the-loss-of-loved-ones/

Please help spread the word…TY!!!  (((HUGS)))

Released 2/15/17

2 thoughts on “Cocoon

  1. Jude I’m very impressed with your writing and your faith. I have faith and thank God all the time for what he’s given me. The cocoon I live in and I suppose share with many other grieving souls is filled with things that some people wouldn’t overcome, and like you, the worst is the loss of my son. I see no gifts only heartache. Still, I hang on for God’s purpose. Hugs Kathleen

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ty, Kathleen, for your encouraging words. I only began writing 7/16, and it was only occasionally. I had no plans, I just wanted to be at God’s disposal. It took some time before I began to see any ‘gifts’ in this excruciatingly painful journey we are on. It’s been 18 yrs. now for me, and I have discovered in hindsight the amazing wander of God. I know I will see my son again…perhaps soon. He, my mom, and now my sister are all waiting for me to join them. God wants to be there for you. He will sustain you and give you His strength. This time here truly is a vapour. It’s a blink of the eye, if that, in comparison to eternity. We truly ‘do not grieve like the rest of mankind, who have no hope.’ (1 Thes. 4:13)….(((HUGS)))

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

