Nihilism

 Image result for void photo
A land of nothingness.

Ps. 14:1a

“…The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.”

1 Cor. 15:13 But if there is no resurrection of the dead, then not even Christ has been raised. 14 And if Christ has not been raised, then our preaching is in vain and your faith is in vain. 15 We are even found to be misrepresenting God, because we testified about God that he raised Christ, whom he did not raise if it is true that the dead are not raised. 16 For if the dead are not raised, not even Christ has been raised. 17 And if Christ has not been raised, your faith is futile and you are still in your sins. 18 Then those also who have fallen asleep in Christ have perished. 19 If in Christ we have hope in this life only, we are of all people most to be pitied.

I have met many that have no Hope… The place in which they abide is very dark.

Some years back, I had occasion to travel to Gran Canaria. There was much beauty there to behold. However, I had no interest in the topless beaches, etc., so I rented a little car from a German man who spoke some English and decided to go where most tourists do not. I began to travel inland; I guess a part of me prefers the wilderness. The road I traveled was somewhat treacherous, but that simply added to the excitement of my journey. Traveling this narrow road up a steep and winding climb to the top at 60 mph, and to suddenly pass a car headed down was challenging, to say the least. However, throughout this ‘day-trip’, I don’t think I saw more than 3 other cars.

I hadn’t done any research on this island before my travels, so I had no knowledge of its history or what I may encounter. The higher I climbed this mountain in the center of this island, the more intrigued I became. Eventually, I came to a spot where I could finally pull over in a limited space. I exited the vehicle and as I stood there admiring the view of the sea and the beaches below covered with ‘ants’, which is how small the bathers appeared from those heights, I began to have a very strange ‘feeling’ come over me. At 1st, I was stupefied by it. It was unlike anything I had ever experienced before. Then I began to notice that there was nothing to notice. There was not one bird, not one insect, not one plant to be seen anywhere…with good reason. There was no vegetation to be found nor any water. The place was void of all life. There was complete utter silence. There was almost a ‘beauty’ there that I found enticing. I later learned that I was standing atop of a solid volcanic rock.

Lifeless, except for the air I breathed.

Image result for lifeless photo
Nihilism essentially means there is no meaning at all. It, too, is lifeless. That is how death appears to one who has no Hope.
I seriously cannot comprehend how one travels this journey of grief without any Hope. Yet, the Scripture makes clear that some do. 1 Thes. 4:13 ‘Brothers and sisters, we do not want you to be uninformed about those who sleep in death, so that you do not grieve like the rest of mankind, who have no hope.’ What a terribly dark place that must be. Even with Hope, this journey has nearly done me in completely. Yet, some simply accept such a vast void as inevitable and as their lot in life.
No, I want no part of that.
Paul goes on to say in 1 Cor. 15:20 But Christ really has been raised from the dead. He is the first of all those who will rise from the dead. 21 Death came because of what a man did. Rising from the dead also comes because of what a man did. 22 Because of Adam, all people die. So because of Christ, all will be made alive. 23 But here is the order of events. Christ is the first of those who rise from the dead. When he comes back, those who belong to him will be raised. 24 Then the end will come after Christ destroys all rule, authority and power. Then he will hand over the kingdom to God the Father. 25 Christ must rule until he has put all his enemies under his control. 26 The last enemy that will be destroyed is death.
Yes, I do want a part of that.
That mountain on Gran Canaria was a nice place to visit…but I wouldn’t want to live there. Truthfully, no one can live there for no life can exist there.
Today, I choose life.
Today, I embrace Hope.

Today, in this barren land, I live because He lives.

John 14:

19 Yet a little while and the world will see me no more, but you will see me. Because I live, you also will live.

Image result for photo of flower in rock

(((HUGS)))  Jude Gibbs, Author of ‘Gifts from the Ashes’ available at:

http://www.xulonpress.com/bookstore/bookdetail.php?PB_ISBN=9781498496728

https://www.amazon.com/Gifts-Ashes-Jude-Gibbs/dp/1498496725/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1487342742&sr=8-1

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/gifts-from-the-ashes-jude-gibbs/1125792801?ean=9781498496728

Please help spread the word…TY!!!  (((HUGS)))

Released 2/15/17

2 thoughts on “Nihilism

Leave a Reply

