Fork on a Chalkboard

Image result for fork on a chalkboard

‘It’s a possible distress signal from the amygdala to the auditory cortex.’–Dr Sukhbinder Kumar  ‘They say our reaction to the sound of scraping nails – which is in the same frequency range as screams and babies’ cries – could be an ancient survival instinct.’ –Daily Mail.

Our reaction to some things is a built-in survival instinct, built-in by God. It is our personal ‘alarm system’. Please don’t push the ‘doze’ button and go back to sleep when it goes off.

God gave us ‘instincts’ for a reason…because he Loves us and wants to protect us; because He is a Loving Father…a perfect Father. Abusers and bullies try to destroy this in us. They, often with their sweet seducing words appearing as ‘an angel of light’,  see this as their enemy. They cannot gain control over you without 1st destroying this ‘God protection’. They will use any means possible to convince you that you don’t ‘get it’..that your perspective is skewed. They want you to doubt yourself and your own judgement and instinct. They will tell you that you are ‘imagining’ things. They will attempt to convince you that you must be ‘crazy’ for even thinking such things.

Years ago, when I was entrenched in battered women’s meetings, there was a gal facilitating a group that threw me a lifeline. She said: “LISTEN to what they say because in what they say, there are gems”.

We live in a society in which ‘blame the victim’ permeates every cell of it. It is often quite insidious. At one point, as I was in training, I had to ‘learn how to listen’. I had to learn to get in touch with my amygdala. God-given connections had been hampered as the result of years of victimization. Amygadala disorders can result in OCD, PTSD, BPD, etc.

‘Men also have approximately 6.5 times more gray matter in the brain than women, but before the heads of all the men out there start to swell, listen to this: Women have about 10 times more white matter than men do’ [source: Carey]. The amygdala is an almond-shaped mass of gray matter in the anterior portion of the temporal lobe. So, women may have to work just a bit more strenuously than men to strengthen this ‘alarm’ system. While men have an easier time at presenting a ‘poker face’, women have the ability to think faster because of their white matter. God has also blessed women with a greater intuitive nature along with a natural greater ability to be emphatic. I’m of the opinion that this intuit compensates women for any diminished grey matter.

Now, either gender can strengthen specific ‘brain muscles’ so this is not a hard and fast rule. But, in general, they are scientifically proven facts.

Women may appear to be ‘all over the board’ at times. But that is because our neurons in our white matter are flashing and connecting rapidly. Whereas, men may have a greater strength in being ‘focused’. A woman may be ‘seeing’ much more in her scope than a man, while a man may be more apt to see a specific thing more clearly while missing the ‘bigger picture’. This can cause more disputes in a male/female relationship…or…the balance and understanding of the differences can be admired and used as teamwork.

In today’s society, many women have trained themselves to think more like a man in order to ‘achieve’ certain goals. However, in doing so, they may have also created their own loss in diminished abilities to ‘trust their gut’. Men, by getting themselves more in-tune with their ‘feminine side’, may have harmed themselves in a loss of their ability to focus.

Truly, we are ‘fearfully and wonderfully made’ (Ps. 139:14).

I have truly been astonished, at times, at some women on grief sites and elsewhere who seem so hardened. Their insensitivity has truly boggled my mind and has caused me much additional grief. When I see some women bully other women, it’s heartbreaking to me. My 1st instinct is to protect the abused. When confronted with a hardened woman, I have to think like a man to deal with it. This is energy I do not find pleasurable in expending. Personally, I perceive it as wasted energy yet necessary, however, for my personal survival under such circumstances. Sadly, being a victim of many forms of abuse in addition to the loss of my son, I have been forced to take stands in such situations that I’d rather not be taking. But, I won’t back down.

Well, I won’t back down
No I won’t back down
You can stand me up at the gates of hell
But I won’t back down

No I’ll stand my ground
Won’t be turned around
And I’ll keep this world from draggin’ me down
Gonna stand my ground

And I won’t back down –Tom Petty

Ephesians 6:

13 Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand firm.

It’s not an easy thing to stand sometimes. However, it is rewarding.

Image result for take a stand photo

(((HUGS)))  Jude Gibbs, Author of ‘Gifts from the Ashes’ available at:

http://www.xulonpress.com/bookstore/bookdetail.php?PB_ISBN=9781498496728

https://www.amazon.com/Gifts-Ashes-Jude-Gibbs/dp/1498496725/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1487342742&sr=8-1

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/gifts-from-the-ashes-jude-gibbs/1125792801?ean=9781498496728

Please help spread the word…TY!!!  (((HUGS)))

Released 2/15/17

 

2 thoughts on “Fork on a Chalkboard

  1. You have to. People are so cruel. I have been treated so mean and cruel throughout the passing of my son by people, especially my own daughter law. But the Holy Spirit said that Vengeance was his.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

