Crocuses

Crocus longiflorus5.jpg

I’ve always loved the early bloom of these little beauties. They are the 1st to appear, the 1st sign of life, after a harsh and cold winter. I don’t think it is a coincidence that they often appear around Easter when we celebrate the Resurrection of Life.

It was one week after my son had died that I knew I had to somehow reinstate some type of my normal ‘routine’, or go completely mad from the grief that was consuming me. I had enough years of working as an on-call counselor and victims’ advocate to know that this was essential to my survival. So, I placed myself on auto-pilot and ventured out to my local gym.

“Crocus was a mortal young man in Greek mythology. According to one myth, he was unhappy with his affair with Smilax; the gods felt pity for him and turned him into the plant of the same name (crocus or saffron).

According to a different story, Crocus was the companion of the messenger god Hermes. When Hermes accidentally killed his friend during a game of discus, he was so distraught that he transformed the young man’s body into the flower.” (Greek Mythology).

As I often state, I agree with Einstein when he says: “Coincidences are God’s way of remaining anonymous”.

About one week before my son was killed, the love of his life had broken up with him and told him he needed to ‘learn to be happy on his own’. Also, my son was killed by his best friend.

I don’t recall driving to the gym that day, being at the gym, nor driving home. However, I have never forgotten what happened as I was walking up the walkway to my front door. Suddenly, I stopped cold. My son appeared to me in a translucent form. He was smiling and sort of nodded his head over to my right as if to say: ‘look over there’…so I did. What I saw was the 1st sign of crocuses in my front garden. I smiled then turned back to look at my son, but he was gone.

I realize there are all types of skeptic psychologists and religious folks that will take issue with my ‘experience’, and will tend to ‘explain’ or ‘discredit’ such a phenomenon.

I honestly don’t care what your thoughts are in regards to this. I’m not trying to be mean, but we bereaved moms are often given such ‘gifts’ and it wounds us when some folks attempt to rob us of the Joy they bring to our hearts.

This was one of my ‘Gifts from the Ashes’ and it was given to me by God, and you cannot take it away from me. It’s mine.

Whenever that memory is brought back to remembrance, I smile. Whenever I see a Crocus, I smile. My son knew how much beauty these little flowers emitted, and how much I treasured them. He knew the sight of them always gave me a sense of peace.

Crocuses are also in the Class: Liliopsida, as are Lillies of the Valley. Mt. 6:28 “And why are you anxious about clothing? Observe how the lilies of the field grow; they do not toil nor do they spin”. So when I look upon these, my mind is set at ease; peace replaces worry.
Time to go deeper with God.

Song of Solomon 2:1
I am the rose of Sharon, and the lily of the valleys.

Song of Solomon 2:2
As the lily among thorns, so is my love among the daughters.

Song of Solomon 6:2
My beloved is gone down into his garden, to the beds of spices, to feed in the gardens, and to gather lilies.

Hosea 14:5
I will be as the dew unto Israel: he shall grow as the lily, and cast forth his roots as Lebanon.

Lilies often grow in the valley. Ps. 23:

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
    I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
    your rod and your staff,
    they comfort me.

My son was named after this verse: Roderick Stafford…’Thy Rod & Thy Staff‘.

Most Bible students agree that the “lily of the valleys” in Song of Solomon 2:1
is a type of Jesus the Christ.

  1. A lily is a sweet and a flagrant flower with a strong scent. Jesus has a sweetness in His ministry especially when He gave “himself for us an offering and a sacrifice to God for a sweet smelling savour” (Eph. 5:2)
  2. A lily is white and very beautiful; exceeding all other flowers for whiteness. Within it are seven grains or seeds that are the color of gold. White is a picture of purity (Rev.3:4) The bride of the Lamb will be clothed in white (Rev. 19:8) What better representation of the purity of Jesus Christ, the one “who knew no sin” (2 Cor. 5:21) who “did no sin” (1 Pet. 2:22) who was tempted “yet without sin” (Heb. 4:15) and who “in him is no sin” (1 John 3:5) than a beautiful white lily? “For such an high priest became us, who is holy, harmless, undefiled, separate from sinners, and made higher than the heavens” (Heb. 7:26)
  3. A lily is very fruitful. One root may put forth fifty bulbs. Through the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ, He brings forth much fruit (John 12:24). It is by bearing much fruit that He glorified the Father (John 15:8).
  4. A lily, according to the ancient writer Pliny, is the tallest of flowers and yet hangs its head down. This a beautiful picture of the greatness of the Son of God matched only by the greatness of His humility. “Who, being in the form of God, thought it not robbery to be equal with God: But made himself of no reputation, and took upon him the form of a servant, and was made in the likeness of men: And being found in fashion as a man, he humbled himself, and became obedient unto death, even the death of the cross” (Philippians 2:6-8).
  5. The lily has many medicinal qualities. According to ancient teaching, it could be used to restore a lost voice, help faintness, was good for the liver, and helped dropsy. The Lord Jesus Christ is the great physician and is fully capable of curing all diseases and maladies of the soul.—Benjamin Keach

Many ancient allegories also connect the flower with motherhood. My Mother died on Easter morning. Lilies are often used as a decorative piece at Easter morning Church services.

Let’s not put God into a box. Let us not dictate to God how he must and mustn’t do things. After all, God even used a donkey to get His message across (Numbers 22:28). God is not restricted by man’s legalistic philosophies.

In my life, God used a type of lily…a Crocus…to let me know my son was now sharing in the Glory of God (1 Pet. 5:1; 2 Thes. 2:14)

“Now if we are children, then we are heirs -heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in his sufferings in order that we may also share in his glory” (Romans 8:17).

BTW, the little fishing camp I purchased one year after my son’s death as a place for healing for myself and his 3 siblings, is surrounded by the Rose of Sharon bushes. It sits in a valley along a river, and lily of the valley plants grow everywhere in the yard. Just another ‘coincidence’ I felt I should mention.

Image result for lily of the valley photorose-of-Sharon, come in pink, white & purple

(((HUGS)))  Jude Gibbs, Author of ‘Gifts from the Ashes’ available at:

http://www.xulonpress.com/bookstore/bookdetail.php?PB_ISBN=9781498496728

https://www.amazon.com/Gifts-Ashes-Jude-Gibbs/dp/1498496725/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1487342742&sr=8-1

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/gifts-from-the-ashes-jude-gibbs/1125792801?ean=9781498496728

Please help spread the word…TY!!!  (((HUGS)))

Released 2/15/17

 

Leave a Reply

