Gumption

Kathy Kinney and Cindy Ratzlaff are the inspirational authors of ...

I lost mine, and can’t seem to find it anywhere. But then again, I misplace a lot of things these days.

A few weeks after my son passed on, our cat had kittens. I found homes for all of them with grieving friends…all but one. I named the one I kept: Spunky! She emanated Life.

My eldest still cares for my Spunky. She will be 18 in April. She’s mostly blind and doesn’t hear very well, but she has not lost her Spunk! In her day, she was the best tree-climbing hunter in our backwoods. She never missed a beat.

I keep 3 cats at my fishing camp to chase down the mice. The problem is that they never catch them and eat them. They do catch them and walk around with them dangling from their mouths, but they will not eat them. Recently, my son and I were both at my camp and Spunky came along for the ride. In the evening, in the middle of the living room, Spunky caught a mouse. The other three cats gathered around her and just sat and watched as she carefully devoured this mouse, leaving only the entrails behind. Before that, the other three were harassing her a bit. They were testing the old girl. After they watched her dine, they never messed with her again. LOL!.

Once upon a time, I was often called: feisty…along with a few other choice words. My ex once said to me: “I never want you as an enemy” :).

So what happened?

I lost my son.

Life…and death…happened.

Image result for life and death photo

Philippians 1:

21 “For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain”.

I have nothing left within myself to offer anyone.

Galatians 2:

20 “I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me”.

Acts 3:

6 “Then Peter said, Silver and gold have I none; but such as I have give I thee: In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth rise up and walk”.

All I have to offer anyone is Jesus the Christ. He may not be enough for you, but He is for me… for by dying, I live.

Colossians 3:

Put On the New Self

If then you have been raised with Christ, seek the things that are above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things that are above, not on things that are on earth. For you have died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God. When Christ who is your life appears, then you also will appear with him in glory.

Is that the trade-off? Is that the ‘deal’?

I give up my life here and in return will appear with Jesus in Glory?…for all eternity??

I’m not much of an investor or gambler in this world, but that sure seems like a pretty darn good deal to me.

Image result for win the lotto photo

Leave a Reply

