Schadenfreude

It is defined as: Pleasure derived from the misfortunes of others; enjoyment obtained from the troubles of others.

Image result for taking pleasure at another's misfortune photo

“Scientific evidence shows that people take pleasure in others’ pain, a study claims. The authors argued that a lack of empathy for others isn’t always a pathological problem. It can be a human response that many people experience.”–Castillo.

SHAH den froy deh is a spiritual disease. It is often rooted in bitterness, envy, hatred and just pure ‘mean-spiritedness’.

When others deride you and are insensitive to your pain, consider the source. Their lack of empathy may be giving you signals that they are spiritually ill. When they mock you, make light of your pain in a joking fashion, they may have Schadenfreude. It’s a German word for which there is no English word, which may be why we don’t address it much in America. Such folk also resent another’s success and will take action to destroy it, at times. They, themselves, are often miserable creatures within.

We are to ‘mourn with those who mourn, and rejoice with those who rejoice’ (Romans 12:15). If we find ourselves not being able to do so, it may be time for a little ‘self-examination’. Proverbs 24:17 ‘Do not gloat when your enemy falls; when they stumble, do not let your heart rejoice’.

Proverb 17:5, “Whoso mocketh the poor reproacheth his Maker: and he that is glad at calamities shall not be unpunished”

Sounds pretty straightforward to me.

Psalms 70:4May those who say, “Aha! Aha!” be turned away because of their shame. 5But may all who seek You rejoice and be glad in You. May those who love Your salvation always say, “Let God be magnified.” Psalms 40:15 May those who say to me, “Aha! Aha!” be appalled at their own shame. From Psalm 35:

11 Malicious witnesses rise up;
    they ask me of things that I do not know.
12 They repay me evil for good;
    my soul is bereft.
13 But I, when they were sick—
    I wore sackcloth;
    I afflicted myself with fasting;
I prayed with head bowed on my chest.
14     I went about as though I grieved for my friend or my brother;
as one who laments his mother,
    I bowed down in mourning.

15 But at my stumbling they rejoiced and gathered;
    they gathered together against me;
wretches whom I did not know
    tore at me without ceasing;
16 like profane mockers at a feast,
    they gnash at me with their teeth.

19 Let not those rejoice over me
    who are wrongfully my foes,
and let not those wink the eye
    who hate me without cause.
20 For they do not speak peace,
    but against those who are quiet in the land
    they devise words of deceit.
21 They open wide their mouths against me;
    they say, “Aha, Aha!
    Our eyes have seen it!”

22 You have seen, O Lord; be not silent!
    O Lord, be not far from me!
23 Awake and rouse yourself for my vindication,
    for my cause, my God and my Lord!
24 Vindicate me, O Lord, my God,
    according to your righteousness,
    and let them not rejoice over me!
25 Let them not say in their hearts,
    “Aha, our heart’s desire!”
Let them not say, “We have swallowed him up.”

26 Let them be put to shame and disappointed altogether
    who rejoice at my calamity!
Let them be clothed with shame and dishonor
    who magnify themselves against me!

27 Let those who delight in my righteousness
    shout for joy and be glad
    and say evermore,
“Great is the Lord,
    who delights in the welfare of his servant!”
28 Then my tongue shall tell of your righteousness
    and of your praise all the day long.

Such lack of empathy does not please God, either. Jesus was mocked, too.

What is your judgment?” They answered, “He deserves death.” Then they spit in his face and struck him. And some slapped him, saying, “Prophesy to us, you Christ! Who is it that struck you?” (Matthew 26:66–68 ESV)

Then the soldiers of the governor took Jesus into the governor’s headquarters, and they gathered the whole battalion before him. And they stripped him and put a scarlet robe on him, and twisting together a crown of thorns, they put it on his head and put a reed in his right hand. And kneeling before him, they mocked him, saying, “Hail, King of the Jews!” And they spit on him and took the reed and struck him on the head. And when they had mocked him, they stripped him of the robe and put his own clothes on him and led him away to crucify him. (Matthew 27:27–31 ESV)

“He who mocks the poor shows contempt for their Maker; whoever gloats over disaster will not go unpunished” (Proverbs 17:5)

2 Pet. 3:3 ‘Know this first of all, that in the last days mockers will come with their mocking, following after their own lusts’

Matthew 24:12 And because iniquity shall abound, the love of many shall wax cold.

Obadiah 1:12 But thou shouldest not have looked on the day of thy brother in the day that he became a stranger; neither shouldest thou have rejoiced over the children of Judah in the day of their destruction; neither shouldest thou have spoken proudly in the day of distress.

God is Love. He is the Creator of Love. He exists in Love. He is Love.

Such derision, such Schadenfreude, will not go unpunished. God will vindicate you if you have been victimized by such cruel cold-hearted mean-spiritedness. Please take it to the foot of the Cross and leave it in His hands.

Proverbs 1:24 Because I have called and you refused to listen,
    have stretched out my hand and no one has heeded,
25 because you have ignored all my counsel
    and would have none of my reproof,
26 I also will laugh at your calamity;
    I will mock when terror strikes you,
27 when terror strikes you like a storm
    and your calamity comes like a whirlwind,
    when distress and anguish come upon you.
28 Then they will call upon me, but I will not answer;
    they will seek me diligently but will not find me.

Yes, God WILL vindicate you.

(((HUGS)))  Jude Gibbs, Author of ‘Gifts from the Ashes’ available at:

http://www.xulonpress.com/bookstore/bookdetail.php?PB_ISBN=9781498496728

https://www.amazon.com/Gifts-Ashes-Jude-Gibbs/dp/1498496725/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1487342742&sr=8-1

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/gifts-from-the-ashes-jude-gibbs/1125792801?ean=9781498496728

Please help spread the word…TY!!!  (((HUGS)))

Released 2/15/17

 

 

 

One thought on “Schadenfreude

Leave a Reply

