Humble Pie

HUMBLE PIE Quotes Like Success

Ever try a slice? It doesn’t taste as good as it looks.

However, as Christians, it is an essential daily dietary nutrition. You may need a big glass of milk to wash it down, though. Earlier tonight, I vented in the ‘Crestfallen’ post. To say I was angry is an understatement. Truth be told, I was seething. Then, I carefully and attentively read God’s response to Job in Job chapters 38 thru 41. Job interrupts the Lord in Job 40:3-5:

Job Promises Silence

Then Job answered the Lord and said:

“Behold, I am of small account; what shall I answer you?
    I lay my hand on my mouth.
I have spoken once, and I will not answer;
    twice, but I will proceed no further.”

This is NOT the response God wanted. My guess is that it was a ‘broken humility’. God is not attempting to silence Job. So, God continues:

The Lord Challenges Job

Then the Lord answered Job out of the whirlwind and said:

“Dress for action like a man;
    I will question you, and you make it known to me.
Will you even put me in the wrong?
    Will you condemn me that you may be in the right?
Have you an arm like God,
    and can you thunder with a voice like his?

In other words, ‘buck it up, kiddo…act like a man!’ As in IS. 1:18a ‘Come now, and let us reason together, saith the Lord.’, He wants Job to know and understand that the Great ‘I AM’ is due His rightful honor and respect…at the same time, He does not desire to strip him of his dignity. God continues speaking to Job until the end of chapter 41. At this point, Job speaks in response once again with a HUGE attitude alteration: Job 42:

Job’s Confession and Repentance

1 Then Job answered the Lord and said:

“I know that you can do all things,
    and that no purpose of yours can be thwarted.
‘Who is this that hides counsel without knowledge?’
Therefore I have uttered what I did not understand,
    things too wonderful for me, which I did not know.
‘Hear, and I will speak;
    I will question you, and you make it known to me.’
I had heard of you by the hearing of the ear,
    but now my eye sees you;
therefore I despise myself,
    and repent in dust and ashes.”

Job now ‘gets it’. He says he will speak now, reversing his earlier ‘broken humility’ of being silent. He says he will question God and boldly proclaims that he knows God will respond. An amazing thing then occurs. Before, Job had only ‘heard’ of God…Now, he sees Him. Awesome!!! Hence, he despises himself and repents in ‘dust and ashes’ from which he was formed. Abraham understood this: Gen. 15:27 Abraham answered, “Look, even though I am only dust and ashes, I’ve ventured to speak to my LORD.” James 2:23  And the scripture was fulfilled which saith, Abraham believed God, and it was imputed unto him for righteousness: and he was called the Friend of God.

WOW!

God does not desire that we cower to Him. We are to most definitely have an awesome and healthy fear of the Lord which is the ‘beginning of knowledge’ (Prov. 1:7) and the ‘beginning of Wisdom’ (Prov. 9:10). At the same time, He desires to be our Friend> John 15:15 “No longer do I call you servants, for a servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all things that I heard from My Father I have made known to you.”

And…He wants to be our very best Friend. He wants to be 1st on our list: 37 “Whoever loves father or mother more than me is not worthy of me, and whoever loves son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me.” (Mt. 10). For us who have buried a child, this is a very very tough pill to swallow. It took me 17 1/2 yrs. after burying my son to ‘get it’. But, then again, I am a slow and stubborn student. In Phil. 3:8, Paul declares:Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ.” Please do not take this the wrong way. Our children were/are not ‘rubbish’. That is not what Paul is referring to in this context. But I Hope you get the point he was making.

If the death of my son brought about his heart’s desire: “To dwell in the House of the Lord forever” (Ps. 27:4 which I found he had written on a piece of paper before his demise), and it has brought me to the place where I not only hear of God, but see Him…then it is a win-win situation.  For there will come a day when we both will stand together in the Joyful Presence of the Lord for all eternity. He has simply led the way; I know he will be waiting for me to arrive.  Jude Gibbs's photo.

(((HUGS)))  Jude Gibbs, Author of ‘Gifts from the Ashes’ available at:

http://www.xulonpress.com/bookstore/bookdetail.php?PB_ISBN=9781498496728

https://www.amazon.com/Gifts-Ashes-Jude-Gibbs/dp/1498496725/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1487342742&sr=8-1

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/gifts-from-the-ashes-jude-gibbs/1125792801?ean=9781498496728

Please help spread the word…TY!!!  (((HUGS)))

Released 2/15/17

One thought on “Humble Pie

Leave a Reply

