Truth

The-Truth-Is-The-Truth

Truth is a beautiful thing…a living thing. It produces life when spoken in Love, even if after being spoken, it may have wrought labor pains of a sort in the hearer when told.

James 1:18 Of his own will he brought us forth by the word of truth, that we should be a kind of firstfruits of his creatures.

Yet, many don’t really want to hear the Truth. They seemingly prefer to be told a lie. Often, when a person asks a bereaved parent or a victim of abuse: “How are you?”, they are hoping that you will tell them you’re ‘fine’…all is good. After some time, I learned to respond to such inquiries in one of two ways: 1-“Do you really want to know?” or 2-“You don’t want to know”. Not all of the time, because one tends to develop a ‘6th sense’ after awhile, and there are those that you know are asking because they truly do want to know the Truth…even if the Truth is not pleasant or what they’d prefer to hear.

Proverbs 18:21 Death and life are in the power of the tongue: and they that love it shall eat the fruit thereof.

We know that John 8:44 describes the devil as: “He was a murderer from the beginning, and does not stand in the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he lies, he speaks out of his own character, for he is a liar and the father of lies.” We also know that Jesus says: “I am the way, and the truth, and the life.” (J. 14:6)

In essence, when we reject Truth, we are rejecting Jesus.

In Psalms, God points out the contrast:  The wicked do not speak truth (5:9), whereas the blameless one speaks truth from the heart (15:2). In spite of God’s truth, we often succumb to the temptation of not speaking the Truth because we are choosing what is seemingly easier at any certain time, or in a specific situation.  We need to find a better way. Often, we can simply say: “I’d rather not talk about it right now, I hope that’s OK”.

Psalm 43:3 Send out your light and your truth; let them lead me; let them bring me to your holy hill and to your dwelling!

https://i2.wp.com/cdn3.whatchristianswanttoknow.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/07/lamp.jpg

1 John 1:This is the message we have heard from him and proclaim to you, that God is light, and in him is no darkness at all. If we say we have fellowship with him while we walk in darkness, we lie and do not practice the truth. But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus his Son cleanses us from all sin.

We need to pray for His strength to not care about the opinions of others: Matthew 22:16 And they sent their disciples to him, along with the Herodians, saying, “Teacher, we know that you are true and teach the way of God truthfully, and you do not care about anyone’s opinion, for you are not swayed by appearances.

1st, we need Faith which comes from hearing the Word of God (Romans 10:17). Upon reading the Word of God, as our Faith begins to blossom, our Hope also becomes realized.

That Hope then gives us the confidence and boldness to speak Truth: 2 Cor. 3:12 “Since we have such a hope, we are very bold“. And, Truth is not relative.

and Spiritually Speaking: My Favorite Quote - Truth!

I pray that we all seek the Wisdom of God that King Solomon desired: Prov. 8:7 My mouth speaks what is true, for my lips detest wickedness.” In doing so, we shall eat the fruit that produces life: 

14 so that we may no longer be children, tossed to and fro by the waves and carried about by every wind of doctrine, by human cunning, by craftiness in deceitful schemes. 15 Rather, speaking the truth in love, we are to grow up in every way into him who is the head, into Christ, (Eph. 4:14-15).

                                         “Let us rejoice in the truth, wherever we find its lamp burning”                                                               –Albert Schweitzer
THE GUNFIRE AROUND us makes it hard to hear. But the human voice is different from other sounds. It can be heard over noises that bury everything else. Even when it’s not shouting. Even when it’s just a whisper. Even the lowest whisper can be heard – -over armies… when it’s telling the truth.–The Interpreter
                                          “the truth will set you free.” (J. 8:32)
2 thoughts on “Truth

  1. Thank you. I needed this. I came to your page earlier to apologise but was afraid you may still be angry. This post helped me realize it’s OK to admit I was wrong and to let you know I am deeply sorry. It’s not an excuse but I’ve just been getting jabbed at every corner it seems for always being wrong and I let it get to me. Again I am sorry. And btw I have back slides yes, I have reasons for giving up at times the pain becomes so strong it’s just I curse God asking why us. I always reach back out to him. I know he’s there. I do love Jesus and my heart believe it or not is kind and genuine but I am also human and over reacting does happen

    Liked by 1 person

    1. TY!! Apology accepted. You have been on my heart and I have been praying. I, too, have been getting jabbed. I vented last night in my ‘Crestfallen’ post. God understands our anger. He says He is ‘is angry with the wicked every day.’ (Ps. 7:11b). He ‘gets it’. He does not tell us to not be angry. The contrary…26 Be ye angry, and sin not: let not the sun go down upon your wrath: (Eph. 4) He simply advises us how to handle it. Now, please be so kind as to accept my apology, as well. (((HUGS))) Again…TY!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

